The Gym Experiment

As a gym “outsider,” and since I’ve only gone twice now, I like exploring the gym culture. I did go that other mentioned in the last post! I walked for 15 minutes and ran for 5 (which is quite an achievement for me!). Today, I went to their only yoga class, and not only was I one of two people who showed up, the instructor made an interesting affirmation for us to follow: “Remember, you are perfect as you are, love yourself for all your flaws, and be totally OK with them.” I wondered if that has something to do with the fact that most people go to the gym to change something about themselves.


Renae (best friend!) came down for her little brother’s high school graduation, and I had a chance to hang out with her! I miss living down the street from her, but I’m happy I can see her when we can. I also took a hike with Matt and our resident Okie, Sarah! I met my parents and my grama yesterday after seeing Renae at Sperling’s Nursery in Calabasas. I got 3 different kinds of tomato plats for less than $6! Cherry tomatoes, Yellow Pear tomatoes and Tomatillos. They’re so cute!

Next goal on the horizon is utilizing (such fancy talk!) my bike! I used to use it all the time my last two years at college. Pasadena is infinitely more bike-able than UCLA, yet I haven’t been inclined to take my bike when I have my car. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve biked to the library, Old Town, work and so forth, so I know I can do it! All I have to do is install my dorky mirror so I can see around me and find my (very ugly) helmet, and I can start biking to work!


Either way, my work has kind of dwindled lately without the added bonus of going to work at Celina’s house to freelance at Tagline!! I have a lot of things on my plate: designing a super top-secret social network, a mini-book of Matt’s essay for our Impractically, Practical show this Thursday in Downtown for the Art Walk (come!), developing a site for one of a verynice design studio‘s pro-bono clients, coming up with new ideas to brand where I freelance… it’s a lot, but designing is a pretty fun field of working.

2 comments
  1. I can’t wait for our show~ Your plate is full, but it is such a fun full plate. Congratulations on going to yoga, what a nice teacher!

  2. Lindsay said:

    I love that you wear your helmet!

Leave a Reply

